USC Welcomes the Reinstatement of Reggie Bush's 2005 Heisman


April 25, 2024

LOS ANGELES-The Heisman Trophy Trust has reinstated the 2005 Heisman Memorial Trophy to former Trojan Reggie Bush, today (April 24), to mark a historic day for college football.

"We are thrilled to welcome Reggie Bush back to the Heisman family in recognition of his collegiate accomplishments," said Michael Comerford, President of The Heisman Trophy Trust. "We considered the enormous changes in college athletics over the last several years in deciding that now is the right time to reinstate the Trophy for Reggie. We are so happy to welcome him back."

As part of the announcement, the Heisman Trust has returned the Trophy to Bush and the replica to USC. Bush will be invited to all future Heisman Trophy ceremonies, starting with the 90th Heisman Trophy ceremony this fall.

Soon after arriving at USC, President Carol Folt welcomed Bush back to campus and supported his efforts for reinstatement.

"I am so happy for Reggie and the entire Trojan Family. He won our hearts during his illustrious career and deserved to have his well-earned honor restored," said Folt. "We are looking forward to celebrating with him and his family and are proud we were able to stand with him as an advocate."

"This is a momentous day for Reggie Bush and the entire USC community as we celebrate the rightful return of his Heisman Trophy," said USC director of athletics Jen Cohen. "Reggie's impact at USC and on college football as a whole is truly unmatched. He has displayed the utmost resiliency and heart throughout this process and is so deserving of every accolade and Trophy he's ever received. We are grateful to the Heisman Trophy Trust for making this happen."

"What a historic day!" said USC head football coach Lincoln Riley. "Reggie's reintroduction to the Heisman Family is a special moment for every person that has been associated with USC football. We are thrilled that Reggie's athletic accomplishments as one of the greatest to ever play the game can officially be recognized. For a long time, the Heisman and USC have been synonymous and being able to acknowledge all eight of our winners is extraordinary."

Bush's reinstatement to the Heisman family allows him to rejoin the impressive fraternity of Trojan greats who have also earned this award: Mike Garrett (1965), O.J. Simpson (1968), Charles White (1979), Marcus Allen (1981), Carson Palmer (2002), Matt Leinart (2004) and Caleb Williams (2022).

With the announcement of Bush's reinstatement, USC officially has the most Heisman Trophy winners in all of college football.

A consensus First Team All-American in 2004 and a unanimous selection in 2005 as an all-purpose player, Bush claimed the Doak Walker Award and was the Walter Camp Player of the Year, the AP Player of the Year, the Sporting News Player of the Year and the Heisman Trophy winner in 2005. He finished fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting in 2004, the year Matt Leinart, his teammate, claimed the award. In 2003, Bush was named a Freshman All-American.

During his three seasons in at USC, Bush helped guide the Trojans to three-consecutive national championship games, winning national titles at the 2004 Rose Bowl with a 28-14 win over Michigan and 2005 Orange Bowl with a 55-19 victory over Oklahoma. The Trojans finished No. 1 in the final AP poll in 2003 and 2004 and No. 2 in 2005 with only two losses during the three-year span, including a 41-38 Rose Bowl loss to Texas in one of the most iconic games in college football history.

Bush set an NCAA record with an astounding 7.3 yards per carry during his career, and he led the NCAA with 222.3 all-purpose yards per game, finishing fourth nationally with 133.9 rushing yards per game in 2005. His 513 all-purpose yards versus Fresno State in 2005, ranks second in NCAA annals.

As a two-time Pac-10 Player of the Year, Bush was a member of three consecutive Pac-10 championship teams. Bush ranks second in league history with 2,890 all-purpose yards in 2005 and ranks fourth all-time with 6,552 career all-purpose yards, having led the league in all-purpose yards in 2004 and 2005.

A two-time Team MVP and the 2005 team captain, Bush ranks fourth on USC's career kickoff return yardage list (1,523), sixth in career punt return yardage (559) and eighth in career rushing (3,169). He set the USC freshman record with 1,331 all-purpose yards in 2003. He finished his career with 433 rushes for 3,169 yards and 25 touchdowns and 95 receptions for 1,301 yards and 13 touchdowns. He returned 67 kickoffs for 1,523 yards and one touchdown, and he fielded 44 punts for 559 yards and three touchdowns. He also threw one touchdown for 52 yards in his career.

Drafted second overall in the 2006 NFL Draft by New Orleans, Bush played for the Saints (2006-10), Dolphins (2011-12), Lions (2013-14), 49ers (2015) and Bills (2016). He was a First Team All-Pro in 2008, and he won Super Bowl XLIV with the Saints in 2010. Bush was inducted into the Saints Hall of Fame in 2019. He was also inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2023.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/22/2024 12:55