Culver City Observer -

USC Women's Volleyball Adds Transfers Scully and Tuaniga

 

usctrojans.com

Shannon Scully (l) and Mia Tuaniga

USC women's volleyball has signed

two transfer student-athletes in All-

WCC outside hitter Shannon Scully

(Huntington Beach, Calif./Mater Dei

HS) from Pepperdine and 2019-20

California Gatorade Player of the Year

setter Mia Tuaniga (Santa Ana, Calif./

Mater Dei HS) from Long Beach State,

Trojans' head coach Brad Keller announced

on Monday, June 28.

- Scully earned AVCA All-America honorable

mention and was a two-time All-West

Coast Conference first-team choice at Pepperdine.

She was named AVCA All-Pacific

South Region in 2020-21 with honorable

mention status in 2019. She is a three-time

WCC Offensive Player of the Week and

was a WCC Commissioner's Honor Roll

choice and a Pepperdine Scholar-Athlete.

In three seasons with the Waves, Scully

finished with 1,001 kills. In 2020-21, she

had 269 kills (3.32 kps) and hit.246. She

collected 26 aces (0.32 saps), 252 digs

(3.11 dps), and 28 blocks (0.35 bps). Scully

had 11 double-doubles and reached double-

figure kills 16 times. She also recorded

double-digit digs 14 times. She leaves

Pepperdine ranked ninth all-time with

3.07 points per set. Prior to playing for the

Waves, Scully played at Utah during the

fall of 2017. She played in 33 matches and

appeared in 128 sets to finish with 32 kills,

28 assists, 25 service aces, and 295 digs.

- Tuaniga was named the 2019-20 California

Gatorade Volleyball Player of the Year.

She initially signed with Long Beach State,

but the 49ers did not compete during the

2020-21 season. As a senior at Mater Dei

high school in 2019, the 5-9 setter compiled

721 assists, 256 digs, 205 kills, 54

blocks, and 41 service aces. She helped

lead the Monarchs to the CIF Open Division

semifinals and a No. 7 national ranking

as rated by PrepVolleyball.com. Tuaniga

is a member of the U.S. Women's Junior

National Team and was also the Orange

County Player of the Year, a 2019-20 Under

Armor First Team All-American, and a

MaxPreps First Team All-American. She

played at Apex1 Volleyball Club and comes

from a long family line of volleyball talents

including Long Beach State men's volleyball

All-American Josh Tuaniga.

For more information on the USC

women's volleyball team and a complete

schedule and results, please

visit USCTrojans.com/WVB. Fans of

the Women of Troy can follow @USCWomensVolley

on Twitter and Instagram.

USC Women's Volleyball Adds

Transfers Scully and Tuaniga

By Bill Seals

Sports Reporter

The Week 2 football schedule for

Pac-12 football promises to be one of

the best in years for the conference

and presents a significant test for the

conference in perception around the

country.All the games are non-conference

games, except for the Stanford at

USC game. Below is the list of Week

2 games for Saturday September 11,

2021, for the Pac-12:

OREGON at Ohio State 9a PT / 12p ET

FOX

Texas A&M at COLORADO (in Denver)

12:30p PT / 1:30p MT FOX

CALIFORNIA at TCU 12:30p PT / 3:30p

ET ESPNU

Portland State at WASHINGTON STATE

3p PT / 6p ET P12N

WASHINGTON at Michigan 4:30p PT /

7:30p ET ABC

San Diego State at ARIZONA 7p PT / 8p

MT P12N

UTAH at BYU 7:15p PT / 8:15p MT ESPN

UNLV at ARIZONA STATE 7:30p PT /

8:30p MT ESPN2

STANFORD at USC 7:30p PT / 10:30p

ET FOX

Hawai'i at OREGON STATE 8p PT / 11p

ET FS1

There are ten nationally televised

Pac-12 games that Saturday. The only

team with the day off is UCLA. UCLA

takes on LSU in the Rose Bowl the

week of September 4th in a national

televised game on Fox.For Pac-12

football fans, the first game will start at

9:00 AM on the west coast with Oregon

at Ohio State and the late games will

likely run up to midnight on the west

coast.

Why are these games important? It

starts with the national perception of

Pac-12 football, extends into recruiting,

and ends with the national television

contracts and exposure. The exposure

the Pac-12 gets from these games in

Week 2 will be as good as it gets during

the season.

Clemson, Alabama, Ohio State and

Oklahoma are favored to be the four

teams selected to the college football

playoffs this season. In the seven seasons

of the four-team college football

playoff, Alabama and Clemson have

made the playoffs six times each, and

Ohio State and Oklahoma four times

each. The Pac-12 has two appearances

in the playoffs in seven seasons.

What these four schools also have in

common is that they will all start quarterbacks

from the west coast. Alabama

is starting Bryce Young (Santa Ana

Mater Dei) at quarterback. Clemson's

starting quarterback is D.J. Uiagalelei

from St. John Bosco in Bellflower.

Ohio State is starting C.J. Stroud at

quarterback. He played his high school

football at Rancho Cucamonga High

School. Oklahoma is starting Spencer

Rattler from Pinnancle high school in

Phoenix, Arizona at quarterback.

The top high school talent on the

west coast is gravitating to the football

schools back east that are on the Big

Stage. This is one of the reasons that

the Week 2 schedule becomes so important

to the Pac-12. The conference

needs to make a positive impression

on the top high school talent out west

and around the country. Both Oregon

and USC are in the top ten nationally

in football recruiting this year, so there

is hope that things are slowly turning

around. But they need to turn more

quickly.

The Week 2 games also are an important

building block on the national

television contract negotiations for

the Pac-12, which will begin in about

18 months. The conference TV contracts

expire after the 2023-2024 season.

George Kliavkoff, the new Pac-12

commissioner as of July 1, will need all

the help he can get from the football

schools as he cleans up the mess left

from the previous commissioner.

The Pac-12 has fallen behind every

other power conference in revenue and

they need to make a good impression

in the next 18 months. The recent success

in the NCAA basketball tournament

has helped the Pac-12, but football

basically pays the bills for athletic

departments in the conference and being

an outsider in the playoffs cannot

continue. That is the significance of

Week 2 this year in Pac-12 football.

Peyton Watson

Shannon Scully (l) and Mia Tuaniga (photo:usctrojans.com

 

Reader Comments(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021