Culver City Observer -

CCUSD Hashtag Contest Highlights All that's Great About Culver City Schools

Culver City Unified School District


March 30, 2017

As part of its continuing effort to involve parents, teachers, students and the entire community in the positive aspects of social media, the Culver City Unified School District and the Culver City Centennial Committee have announced $1,600 in awards through the CCUSD Hashtag Contest. Using the #CULVERPRIDE hashtag, teachers, students, parents and staff have spent the 2016-2017 school year posting the amazing things happening in CCUSD schools on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and more. The use of the #CULVERPRIDE hashtag has helped bolster school and community culture, and allowed millions of people to learn more about CCUSD’s academics, athletics, arts and activities. “There is a right way and a wrong way to use social media,” said Superintendent Josh Arnold. “At CCUSD, we’re not afraid of social media. Rather, we want to engage everyone involved with our schools and use these platforms to share ideas, talk about events and, yes, have fun. Sharing an spreading our culture is what this is all about.”Winners selected by the #CULVERPRIDE Hashtag Committee received cash prizes of between $50 and $500 and were recognized at an awards ceremony on March 21 at Culver City Middle School. Honored at the event were: Layla Akbar-Grant --- $50 (CCHS Student) Sara Takami --- $50 (CCMS Student) William Mitchell --- $50 (CCMS/El Rincon Parent) Kelley Miller --- $50 (CCMS Parent) Isabel Parra --- $100 (CCHS Student) Bailey LeVine --- $100 (CCHS Student) Victoria Zerpoli --- $100 (CCMS Staff) Andrea Garcia ---- $100 (CCHS Student) Linda Carpenter --- $250 (El Rincon Teacher) Culver City Cheer --- $250 (CCHS Student Group) Stacey Thompson --- $500 (Farragut Teacher) To see the winning posts, please visit the following links:

Culver City Unified School District Administration Building 4034 Irving Place Culver City, CA 90232-2810 (310) 842-4220BOARD OF EDUCATION Ms. Anne Allaire-Burke Dr. Kelly Kent Dr. Steven M. Levin Ms. Katherine Paspalis


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 09/10/2020 22:03