Culver City Observer -

Who's Best? Oregon or Ohio State?

Game to Decide National Championship


January 8, 2015

For many years the Pac-10 champion and Big Ten champion capped a football season by playing in the Rose Bowl game.

This time the conference’s best teams, Oregon and Ohio State, will also cap a season. But it won’t be in merely one of many bowl games, it will be in the first college football national championship game.

Oregon has already conquered its Rose Bowl opponent, Florida State, 59-20 in the playoff semi-final. It now moves on to the Dallas Cowboys’ stadium in Arlington, Texas Monday, Jan. 12 to face Big Ten representative Ohio State, a surprise 42-35 winner over top-seeded Alabama.

“It was a lot of fun,” Oregon coach Mark Helfrich of his team’s ability to score six straight touchdowns in the second half.

Known for its go-go offense, perfected by Coach Chip Kelly before he left for the Philadelphia Eagles, Oregon also quieted some media critics who portrayed the team as soft, expecting Oregon to fail a test against a more physical opponent.

Florida State was the only one of the four teams selected to participate in the new playoff system to be undefeated. But it was no match for Oregon, which was led by Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Marcus Mariota.

Florida State's three-year 29-game winning streak was ended and its quarterback, Jamies Winston, the previous year’s Heisman winner, absorbed the first loss of his college career.

The selection committee illustrated its doubts about Florida State by giving it only the No. 3 seed despite a perfect record. That’s because the Seminoles had to come from behind in the second half seven times to win regular season games.

The committee also got it right by granting Ohio State a berth over TCU and Baylor, which had ranked higher most weeks leading up to the final ballot.

Ohio State crashed the party when it routed Wisconsin, 54-0, in the Big Ten championship game.

Ohio State was only the No. 4 seed, but it erased a 21-6 deficit to shock No. 1 seed Alabama in the Sugar Bowl.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 03/15/2019 12:15