NFL Unveils 2023 Nominees for Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year

Winner Announced at NFL Honors on Thursday, Feb. 8 Before Super Bowl LVIII

NEW YORK - Dec. 5, 2023 - The NFL announced today the 32 nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide is the league's most prestigious honor and acknowledges NFL players who excel on the field and demonstrate a passion for creating a lasting positive impact beyond the game.

"The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award is the league's most prestigious honor given annually to the player who best represents the greatness and compassion of Walter Payton on and off the field," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. "These 32 outstanding men are making a valuable difference in their communities every day and we are proud to celebrate their special gifts and humanitarianism."

All 32 nominees will receive recognition for their achievements during the week leading up to Super Bowl LVIII in Las Vegas. The winner of the 2023 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award will be announced during NFL Honors, a primetime awards special to air nationally on CBS on Thursday, Feb. 8.

Each nominee supports a range of initiatives off the field that are important to them and their communities, including empowering youth to lead healthy lifestyles, supporting veterans and bringing awareness to other causes close to their hearts. Each nominee will receive up to $55,000 and the award winner will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of his choice. All donations are made possible by the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

Below is a list of this year's nominees:


Arizona Cardinals Jonathan Ledbetter

Atlanta Falcons Bradley Pinion

Baltimore Ravens Roquan Smith

Buffalo Bills Dion Dawkins

Carolina Panthers Bradley Bozeman

Chicago Bears Justin Jones

Cincinnati Bengals Ted Karras

Cleveland Browns Anthony Walker Jr.

Dallas Cowboys DeMarcus Lawrence

Denver Broncos Garett Bolles

Detroit Lions Frank Ragnow

Green Bay Packers De'Vondre Campbell

Houston Texans Jon Weeks

Indianapolis Colts Zaire Franklin

Jacksonville Jaguars Dawuane Smoot

Kansas City Chiefs Patrick Mahomes II

Las Vegas Raiders Maxx Crosby

Los Angeles Chargers Derwin James Jr.

Los Angeles Rams Cooper Kupp

Miami Dolphins Alec Ingold

Minnesota Vikings Harrison Phillips

New England Patriots Jonathan Jones

New Orleans Saints Tyrann Mathieu

New York Giants Saquon Barkley

New York Jets Solomon Thomas

Philadelphia Eagles Lane Johnson

Pittsburgh Steelers Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers Arik Armstead

Seattle Seahawks Bobby Wagner

Tampa Bay Buccaneers Antoine Winfield Jr.

Tennessee Titans Jeffery Simmons

Washington Commanders Terry McLaurin

For more information on the nominees and the award, please visit


Reader Comments(0)