Culver City Symphony Orchestra Performs Dvořák's New World Symphony, plus Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky

This Saturday!

2022-23 season spotlights three finalists seeking to be our new Music Director-Conductor. We continue the season with guest conductor Clyde Mitchell who will lead the Orchestra in a performance of Dvořák's Symphony No. 9, "From the New World," one of the most popular of all symphonies. Dvořák composed this Symphony while he was working in New York as the Director of the National Conservatory of Music of America, and it shows the influences of the Native American music and the African-American spirituals he heard while in North America.

The concert will open with music from Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake, followed by Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 2 featuring our 2019 Parness Concerto Competition winner, Abriana Church. This concerto is considered to be one of the most technically formidable piano concertos in the standard repertoire, and we look forward to a spectacular performance by Abriana!

Admission to this concert is FREE, no tickets required.


Saturday, February 11, 2023, 7:30PM

Robert Frost Auditorium in Culver City.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 07/23/2024 07:51