Tuli Tuipulotu of the University of Southern California has been named the Week 11 Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week


November 24, 2022

By Trent Rush, Media Relations, The Lott IMPACT® Trophy

Tuli Tuipulotu of the University of Southern California has been named the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week for the eleventh week of the 2022 college football season.

Tuipulotu currently leads the nation in sacks and added 2.5 more in the Trojans 55-17 rout of Colorado. Tuipulotu also forced a fumble and broke up a pass with three total tackles in that game.

The junior defensive lineman, from Hawthorne, California, is a semifinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy and is the reigning defensive lineman of the year for the Trojans. In addition to leading the country in sacks, he’s third in the nation in tackles for a loss. Additionally, Tuipulotu participates in a Christmas toy drive and distributes presents to children.

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy is awarded annually to individuals who demonstrate excellence in the field of athletics and recognizes college football’s Defensive Player of the Year who best exemplifies the IMPACT acronym: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The mission of The Pacific Club IMPACT® Foundation is to recognize and support both national and local charities that serve the youth of America with a focus on education and have a positive IMPACT® on the lives of young men and women.

Other nominees for the Lott IMPACT® Trophy Player of the Week in Week 11:

JALEN CARTER, DT, Georgia, Jr. - Made a sack, among 7 tackles, 1.5 for a loss, with 4 QB hurries in 45-19 win over Mississippi State

TOMMY EICHENBERG, LB, Ohio State, Sr. - Had three tackles for a loss, among 7 total, plus a QB hurry in 56-14 win over Indiana.

ANTONIO JOHNSON, CB, Texas A&M, So. - Forced a fumble, made 10 tackles, 2 for a loss, and a QB hurry in 13-10 loss to Auburn.

BJ OJULARI, DE, LSU, Jr. - Recovered a fumble, with 9 tackles, 1.0 for a loss with 0.5 sacks in 13-10 win at Arkansas.

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT® Trophy

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA

2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa

2018 – Josh Allen, Kentucky

2019 – Derek Brown, Auburn

2020 – Paddy Fisher, Northwestern

2021 – Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan

About the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT® Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT® Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to recognize both athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Lott IMPACT® Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT® Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.6 million to various charities throughout the country. The 19th Annual Lott IMPACT® Trophy Award Presentation will be held December 11, 2022 at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California. For more information on The Lott Trophy visit: http://www.LottImpactTrophy.org


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024