Alijah Vera-Tucker Wins Morris Trophy

USC junior offensive lineman Alijah Vera-Tucker has been named the offensive winner of the 2020 Morris Trophy, presented annually to the Pac-12's outstanding offensive and defensive linemen by the Washington Athletic Club.

The Morris Trophy winners are selected by their peers. Pac-12 defensive players vote for the offensive winner and offensive players choose the defensive winner.

Vera-Tucker is USC's first Morris Trophy winner since offensive tackle Matt Kalil in 2011. He is USC's 17th overall Morris Trophy winner since the program began in 1980 (and Troy's 13th offensive winner).

Oregon's Kayvon Thibodeaux was the 2020 Morris Trophy's defensive recipient.

The award will be presented virtually at the 41st annual Morris Trophy awards presentation on Jan. 21 at noon.

Vera-Tucker started all 6 games in 2020 at left offensive tackle, earning All-Pac-12 first team and All-American honorable mention honors. He was a Trojan co-captain. In the summer of 2020, he announced his decision to leave USC to enter the NFL Draft. But a month prior to the 2020 season, he opted back in and rejoined the Trojan roster.

He spent 2019 as the starting left guard and was at right guard in 2018. He appeared in 31 games in his career, starting 19 times. After the 2020 season concluded, he declared again for the NFL Draft.


Reader Comments(0)