City Council Installation

By David Ganezer

Three New Santa Monica City Council Members Sworn In Tuesday Night via Zoom

There's an emergency lockdown in place and the meeting had to be held via Zoom. Nevertheless, Santa Monica did what it has done every two years for 150 years, and swore in a new City Council on Tuesday Night.

New members Oscar de la Torre, Phil Brock and Christina Parra were sworn in by Santa Monica City Clerk Denise Anderson-Warren. Also sworn in were Kristin McCowan and Gleam Davis.

After going a few rounds, the new Council voted in Sue Himmelrich as the two-year Mayor, and Kristin McGowan as two-year Mayor Pro-Tem. Kevin McKeown and Himmelrich, will serve 2 more years on the council--their terms do not expire until 2022. Santa Monica Mayor is an honorary title, mostly.

The City Council oversees a budget well north of 500 million dollars, a police department of 150 sworn officers, and a major tourist economy in Los Angeles County's 5th biggest City by population.

The 7 member Santa Monica City Council will face the old challenges of homelessness and public safety, aggravated by the Covid-19 crisis and George Floyd looting in late May and early June.


Reader Comments(0)