Nneka Ogwumike Wins 2020 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

Los Angeles Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike has been named the recipient of the 2020 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. This is the second straight Sportsmanship Award for Ogwumike, who joins Seattle Storm guard Sue Bird (2017, 2018) as the only players to earn the honor in consecutive years.

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer.

Ogwumike received 21 votes from a national panel of 46 sportswriters and broadcasters. New York Liberty guard Layshia Clarendon (11 votes) and Atlanta Dream center/forward Elizabeth Williams (seven) finished in second and third place, respectively. Washington Mystics guard Ariel Atkins (three), Dallas Wings guard Allisha Gray (two), Minnesota Lynx forward Napheesa Collier (one) and 2020 WNBA Most Valuable Player A'ja Wilson of the Las Vegas (one) also received votes.

A nine-year WNBA veteran, Ogwumike has served as President of the Women's National Basketball Players Association since 2016. As part of the dedication of the 2020 WNBA season to social justice, the league and State Farm named all WNBA players as the recipients of the 2020 season-long WNBA Community Assist Award presented by State Farm for their continued commitment, leadership and collaborative efforts to promote racial equality and systemic change. Ogwumike also won the season-long award in 2018 for her dedication to community outreach.

In the 2020 WNBA season, Ogwumike averaged 13.3 points and 4.8 rebounds in 18 games. The six-time WNBA All-Star was honored as the league's Most Valuable Player in 2016, when she led the Sparks to the WNBA championship. She was also named the 2012 WNBA Rookie of the Year, which followed her selection by Los Angeles as the No. 1 overall pick in the 2012 WNBA Draft.

Below are the voting results for the 2020 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of all-time winners.


Player Team Votes

Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks 21 Layshia Clarendon New York Liberty 11

Elizabeth Williams Atlanta Dream 7

Ariel Atkins Washington Mystics 3

Allisha Gray Dallas Wings 2

Napheesa Collier Minnesota Lynx 1

A'ja Wilson Las Vegas Aces 1


2020 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks

2019 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks

2018 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

2017 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

2016 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever

2015 DeLisha Milton-Jones Atlanta Dream

2014 Becky Hammon San Antonio Stars

2013 Swin Cash Chicago Sky

Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever

2012 Kara Lawson Connecticut Sun

2011 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

Ruth Riley San Antonio Stars

2010 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever

2009 Kara Lawson Sacramento Monarchs

2008 Vickie Johnson San Antonio Stars

2007 Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever

2006 Dawn Staley Houston Comets

2005 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun

2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx

2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs

2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury

2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty

2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers

1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting

1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers

1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks

About the WNBA

The WNBA is a bold, progressive basketball league that stands for the power of women. Featuring 12 teams, the W is a unique sports property that combines competition and entertainment with a commitment to diversity and inclusion and social responsibility. Through its world-class athletes, the in-game fan experience, TV and digital broadcasts, digital and social content and community outreach programs, the league celebrates and elevates the game of basketball and the culture around it.

In 2020, the WNBA and the Women's National Basketball Players Association signed a groundbreaking eight-year CBA that charts a new course for women's basketball – and women's sports overall – with a focus on increased player compensation, improvements to the player experience, expanded career development opportunities and resources specifically tailored to the female professional athlete. Key elements of the agreement are supported through the league's new partnership platform, WNBA Changemakers. Inaugural WNBA Changemakers include AT&T, Deloitte and Nike.

For more information, visit WNBA.com.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/16/2024 10:20