Ten Centaurs Make All-CIF Football

Coach Jamal Wright named Coach of the Year

Centaurs Have Record 10 Football Players Make All-CIF

After last year’s record run with the Centaurs winning a CIF Championship for the first time in 40 years, a record number of players were chosen for the All-CIF team. And for the first time in Culver City football history two players were selected as the offensive and defensive players of the year for the All-CIF team.

The Offensive Player of the Year award in Division 7 was given to slot receiver, senior standout and team captain Kevin McGuire, for his tremendous contribution during the regular season and his dramatic playmaking in key moments in the playoffs. The Defensive Player of the Year award went to middle linebacker and team captain Cortez Wright.

McGuire had a record setting season catching 18 touchdown passes, shattering the former record of 13 shared by 5 other receivers. His 69 catches for 1,169 yards are both 4th best all time for a Culver City receiver. He also ran for 331 yards on 35 carries for 6 TD’s and a 9.5 yards per carry average.

As a passer, he completed 3 of 3 passes for 79 yards and one touchdown, and he had 2 punt returns for 21 yards. Cortez Wright had 134 tackles, 7 sacks, 16 tackles for loss, and 1 interception. His toughness and 4.5 speed always stood out on the football field.

On the offensive side, senior Amir Hodge was named All-CIF lineman for the second straight year, and this was the first time in Culver City football history for a lineman to achieve back-to-back All-CIF honors.

Right tackle Sr. Kofi Karikari (Virginia Union signee), wide receiver Sr. Jamal Glaspie (Fresno State) and Sophomore quarterback Zevi Eckhaus, who threw for 50 touchdowns, also won honors for their play on offense.

On the defensive side of the ball, honors went to all seniors. Cornerack Allen Smith (Wyoming), safety Dominic Tatum (Utah State), lineman Anthony Morillo, and outside linebacker Malachi McMahon.

Congratulations also go to Coach Jamal Wright for being named All-CIF Coach of the Year. This is the second time a coach has been given this honor in Culver City football history, the first being Coach Dick Billingsley in 1978.

Coach Wright is also the only coach in Culver City football history to take the Centaurs to two CIF Championship games. Coach Wright’s 77 wins also broke Coach Tom Salter’s record for most wins in a career at 73.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 07/12/2024 14:41