Culver City Observer -

Scott Houston Elected President of West Basin Board Of Directors

Represents Culver City on Water Board


January 31, 2019

Board President Scott Houston

At the January board meeting, the West Basin Municipal Water District board of directors elected Scott Houston to serve as its board president and Gloria D. Gray to serve as its board vice president for 2019. Directors Harold Williams and Carol W. Kwan were named board treasurer and board secretary; respectively Director Donald L. Dear was named immediate past president.

"I am honored to be elected by my colleagues to serve as West Basin's board president in the year ahead," said President Houston. "As a board, we will continue to focus our efforts on water conservation, community education and outreach, and increasing the use of recycled water throughout our service area. West Basin remains dedicated to protecting our existing water supplies while also securing local, drought-resilient resources that ensure future water reliability to the communities we serve."

Houston was first elected to the West Basin board of directors in 2014 and was re-elected in 2018. He represents the Division IV cities of Culver City, El Segundo, Malibu, West Hollywood and unincorporated LA County areas of Del Aire, Lennox, Marina del Rey, North Ladera Heights, Topanga, View Park, Windsor Hills and Wiseburn.

A resident of the District for nearly two decades, Houston has been an active leader in both his local community and the greater Los Angeles area. Houston currently serves on the board of trustees of the Southern California Water Coalition (SCWC) and is the chair of SCWC's Urban Water Planning Task Force. In 2017, Los Angeles County Supervisor Janice Hahn appointed Houston to serve as a commissioner on the County's Economic Development Advisory Committee. He previously served a four-year term on the City of El Segundo's Public Works Committee.

West Basin is governed by a five-member board of directors who are publicly elected to represent 17 cities throughout its 185-square mile service area in coastal Los Angeles County. The District is committed to providing a safe and reliable supply of high-quality water to its communities.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 07/26/2021 12:03