Dodgers' Yasiel Puig Wins First-Career Defensive Player of The Year Award

Dodgers Named Best Defensive Team of the Yea

Wilson®, The Official Ball Glove of Major League Baseball® announces the 2017 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards.

The Twins' 23-year-old centerfield phenom Byron Buxton is one of five first-time winners and the overall Wilson Defensive Player of the Year.

The Angels' Andrelton Simmons continued his dominance as MLB's leading defender at shortstop, winning a fourth award over five years. The Rockies' Nolan Arenado earned honors as baseball's best defender at third base for a third straight year.

Meanwhile, the National League Champion Los Angeles Dodgers are MLB's Defensive Team of the Year. Here's the complete list of the 2017 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award winners:


Catcher Martín Maldonado Angels 1st

1B Carlos Santana Indians 1st

2B DJ LeMahieu Rockies 2nd ('13, '17)

3B Nolan Arenado Rockies 3rd('15, '16, '17)

SS Andrelton Simmons Angels 4th ('13, '14, '15, '17)

LF Alex Gordon Royals 2nd ('14, '17)

CF Byron Buxton Twins 1st

RF Yasiel Puig Dodgers 1st

P Tyler Chatwood Rockies 1st

Player of Year Byron Buxton Twins 1st

Defensive Team of the Year Los Angeles Dodgers 1st


Reader Comments(0)