L.A. City Section Inducts Newest Hall of Fame Class


February 9, 2017

From staff reports

The CIF L.A. City Section is inducting a Hall of Fame class on April 23 at the Doubletree Hilton Hotel in Culver City and several past South Bay players are included.

Among those being inducted are Arturo Torres (Banning boys soccer, 1998), Louise Figliewicz (San Pedro softball, 1979), Ebony Hoffman (Narbonne girls basketball, 2000), Cardie Hicks (San Pedro girls basketball, 1973), Nnamdi Asomugha (Narbonne football, 1999), Ken Norton Jr. (Westchester football, 1984), Ed Azzam (Westchester basketball coach), Ralph Mann (Carson track and field) and San Pedro High’s Frank Endo (1941).

Among those headlining the 2017 Hall of Fame class are famed broadcaster Al Michaels (Hamilton, ’62); five-time world champion player and head coach of the 2015 NBA Champion Golden State Warriors Steve Kerr (Palisades, ’83).

There will be two-time NCAA basketball scoring champion Freeman Williams (Manual Arts, ’74); Boston Red Sox three-time All-Star and 20-year MLB veteran Dwight Evans (Chatsworth, ’69); 11-year NFL veteran and three time Pro Bowler Keyshawn Johnson (Dorsey, ’92); along with Bob Watson (Fremont ‘64) and Gilbert Arenas (Grant, ‘99).

The reception for inductees is at 3 p.m., and dinner is from 5 to 8 p.m. Dinner tickets for the event cost $75. Guests will need to RSVP by April 11 if they wish to attend. For information email ddornan@cif-la.org


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/21/2024 12:37