Culver City Observer -

Council Appoints Commissioners


Mayor Jim Clarke opened the meeting Monday night holding a moment of silence for the victims of the mass shooting at a nightclub in Orlando, Florida.

Fiesta La Ballona Chair Marcus G. Tiggs presented the plan for the 2016 Fiesta La Ballona. The Fiesta will be held in Veteran’s Park on August 26, 27 and 28th. The Fiesta has carnival rides, food booths and trucks, exhibiters, live entertainment, beer and wine garden, and roving entertainers.

Councilman Thomas Small called the Fiesta a “fantastic event.”

The council appointed members to the various commissions and committees.

Reappointed to the planning commission was Kevin Lachoff.

Sorrento Market owner Albert Vera was appointed to the Civil Service Committee.

Cultural Affairs commission appointments were Jeannine Wisnosky Stehlin and Zolton Pali.

William Rickards was reappointed to the Parks and Recreation Commission while Ira Diamond and Deborah Wallace were reappointed to the Committee on Homelessness. Former School board member Karlo Silbiger was appointed to the third seat.

Bob Montgomery, Barbara Effros-Schwartz and Janet Cameron-Hoult were all reappointed to the Disability Advisory Committee with Koko Naing filling the empty seat.

Marcus Tiggs and Ronnie Jayne were both reappointed to the Fiesta La Ballona Committee with Carrie Karney filling one of the two empty seats. A fourth seat remains open.

Frank Dolce was appointed to the LAX Advisory Committee while Jay Garacochea was reappointed to the West Los Angeles Vector Control Board.

Resident incumbents Crystal Alexander and Alejando Lara were both reappointed to the Finance Advisory Committee while Gustavo Rendon and Jose Casarez were appointed as the business representatives.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019