Culver City Observer -

UCLA's Savage Named Coach of the Year


January 30, 2014

John Savage

UCLA head baseball coach John Savage, who guided the Bruins to their first NCAA championship in baseball, has been named the 2013 Coach of the Year by the Los Angeles Sports Council.

Savage, along with select team members, will be honored during the ninth Annual LA Sports Awards, which will be held on Wednesday, March 5 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Previous Coach of the Year honorees have been Darryl Sutter, Kings (2012); Lane Kiffin, USC (2011); Bruce Arena, Galaxy (2010); Mike Scioscia, Angels (2009) and Phil Jackson, Lakers (2008).

Savage was also named the National Coach of the Year by Collegiate Baseball, Baseball America, the ABCA and Perfect Game USA in 2013, earning ABCA West Region Coach of the Year honors as well.

Last season, Savage led the Bruins to their first national title in program history, going 10-0 in the postseason. UCLA went 4-0 against national seeds in the tournament, eliminating two of them (No. 5 Cal State Fullerton, No. 1 North Carolina). At the College World Series, the Bruins' pitching staff allowed only four runs over five CWS games.

In the 67-year-history of the College World Series, only one national champion gave up fewer runs than UCLA, as California allowed three in 1957. The Bruins were also the first team in CWS history to allow one run or less in each of the five games they played.

Savage helped UCLA post an overall 49-17 record in 2013, marking the second-highest single-season win total in school history.

Savage has guided the Bruins to the postseason in seven of the last eight seasons and to the College World Series in three of the last four years.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 01/14/2020 04:19